De Haar Castle or Kasteel de Haar is located near Utrecht in The Netherlands.
The medieval House De Haar dates from the 13th century. It fell into disrepair in the 18th and 19th centuries. Architect Pierre Cuypers (famous for his designs of the Rijksmuseum and the Central Station in Amsterdam) restored and rebuilt De Haar for baron Etienne van Zuylen van Nijevelt van de Haar. The rebuilding took from 1892 till 1912 and was a project unique of its kind in all of Europe.
Surrounding the castle there is a huge park with various gardens designed by Hendrik Copijn.
The park contains many waterworks and a formal garden which is reminiscent of the French gardens of Versailles. During the Second World War many of the gardens were lost because the wood was used to light fires and the soil was used to grow vegetables.
However the gardens are now restored in their original state.
In order to decorate the park the entire village of Haarzuilens, except for the town church, was demolished. The inhabitants were moved a kilometer away and lived as the Castle’s tenants. The new village was also built in a pseudo-medieval style and features a rural village green.